ATK Recipe #47: German Potato Salad

Back a few weeks ago when I made BBQ pulled pork, I needed a side to go with it. My first thought was naturally potato salad. And since I still had three potato salad recipes in The Book to try, I chose the German Potato Salad. When I told my husband I was going to make potato salad dressing, he groaned. “I hate potato salad,” he moaned. I told him I had a cookbook to get through and to stop whining. “Besides,” I said, “you liked the last potato salad I made from The Book.”

Like the French potato salad I made earlier, the real trick to this recipe is to sprinkle the cooked potatoes with white vinegar immediately after boiling. It makes them flavorful instead of bland. The rest of the secret is bacon. A LOT of bacon. Basically there’s potatoes, vinegar, bacon, onions cooked in bacon fat, sugar, mustard, salt, pepper, and fresh parsley. And it’s served warm. I thought it was awesome, and even Justin-who-hates-potato-salad liked it. I think after these two successful potato salad experiences, maybe he just hates crappy potato salad.

One thought on “ATK Recipe #47: German Potato Salad

  1. stephanie b says:

    Crappy potato salad abounds.

Leave a Reply

