ATK Recipe #45 and 46: Slow Cooker BBQ Pulled Pork and BBQ Sauce

I originally intended to cook some Barbecue Pulled Pork on the grill according to the ATK instructions, which involve foil pans and woodchips. Unfortunately, my husband forgot to buy woodchips and then the weekend was over but the pork roast was defrosted, so I decided to try to slow cooker recipe instead.

The recipe is ridiculously simple: put boston butt roast into crock pot with 3 cups Barbecue Sauce. Cook 7-8 hours on high or 10-11 hours on low. The Book recommends that you use homemade BBQ sauce, but you can use store bought. I opted to make my own from their recipe. It was pretty simple, just a matter of throwing a bunch of ingredients into a pot and simmering for about 15 minutes. I threw it straight into the crock pot with the pork.

Within a couple of hours the house smelled so good, I actually wanted to get away from it because it was making me so hungry. Naturally, by the time it was actually ready to be eaten, I forgot to take a picture. That night we ate it on rolls. In the next few days we found our favorite way to eat it was on corn tortillas as tacos. It went particularly well with the German potato salad I’ll talk about in my next post. But no matter how we ate it, there wasn’t anything about it that wasn’t delicious.

Leave a Reply

