ATK Recipe #41 and 42: Corn Fritter & Wilted Spinach Salad with Feta and Olives

And I’m finally caught up to recipes I’ve made this month. I put these two recipes together for dinner one night when I was looking for things I could make cheaply. I also know I need to get going with the salad section or I’ll be eating salad for a couple months running.

The corn fritters are made by slicing fresh corn off the cob and then grating the cob to get all the corn juice out of it. The corn is mixed with egg, flour, corn meal, heavy cream, 1 shallot, salt and pepper. Except I didn’t have heavy cream and had to use 2% milk instead. At only 2 tablespoons, I couldn’t imagine it made a huge difference. So, at this point the recipe refers to your mixture as “batter,” but what I had didn’t resemble my idea of batter. It looked like a big bowl of corn tossed with a few tablespoons of corn meal and milk. But, ok, I’m not the cookbook writer. Maybe just don’t know jack about corn fritters. So I heat the oil in the pan to fry my fritters and start trying to fry them. The picture next to the recipe shows a stack of gorgeous golden corn pancakes, but my spoons of corn “batter” are just becoming individual kernels of fried corn. So I decide something is horribly wrong and scoop all my corn bits out of the hot oil.

I threw another egg, some more milk and a bunch more corn meal into the bowl of corn until it starts to look more like a batter. Once I started frying the improved batter, it was obvious this was more what it was supposed to be like. This time I got little flat cakes of corn. They still fell apart a bit in handling, but I tasted as I went and they tasted great. I’m honestly a bit shocked that this recipe was so wildly off. I rechecked the amounts several times to make sure the mistake wasn’t mine. Maybe it was a typo. Surely my ears of corn weren’t abnormally larger than most?

Corn Fritter

Of course I couldn’t just serve fried corn for dinner, much as I may have wanted to. So I looked for something with some green veggies to balance the fried food. We love spinach, feta, and olives, so this recipe sounded unbeatable. To my knowledge I’ve never had a “wilted” salad and it’s not a very appetizing descriptor. What that means is that you cook the onion and garlic in a pan, add the rest of the dressing ingredients and warm them. (In this case those were olive oil, oregano, salt, pepper, and lemon juice.) Then you pour the warm dressing on the cool spinach right before serving, which just barely wilts the spinach to make it tender. The chopped kalamata olives and feta are spinkled on top. The finished product was something like a Greek salad, except with nutritious spinach. I was surprised the salad wasn’t warm but just room temperature.

Spinach, Olive, and Feta Salad

Leave a Reply

