ATK Recipe #40: Emergency Chocolate Cake

This recipe is designed to be as easy as a box mix, easy for kids to make, and require only ingredients you are likely to have in the house at all times. I’m going to actually give you this recipe because I think it’s so neat.

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup Dutch-processed Cocoa powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 cup mayonnaise
1 cup water
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

If you’re anything like me, you’re thinking that cake made with mayonnaise is just crazy. Both myself and my husband weren’t sure we really wanted to taste mayonnaise cake. Until I thought about it and realized why the mayonnaise is there. What is mayonnaise? Eggs and oil. And what do you usually add to a cake mix? Eggs and oil. Ok. Suddenly this doesn’t sound as gross as it did at first.

The instructions are easy. Mix together all the dry ingredients and then all the wet ingredients. Combine and pour into an 8 inch square cake pan. (I used a 9 inch square pan since that’s what I had. It worked fine. Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes, until a wooden skewer inserted in the middle comes out with only a few crumbs attached. It looked like this:

Emergency Chocolate Cake

And it tasted great. Really moist and chocolately. We had a can of squeeze frosting left over from when my husband made me a cookie cake for my birthday. So I used that to add some stripes of frosting to the cake. Which is kinda like cheating, but it needed to get used. I really, really enjoyed this cake. So much that, well, let’s just say it didn’t have time to get stale. I usually prefer white cake to chocolate, but this was definitely an exception. I know I won’t ever make a box chocolate cake again.

If anyone makes this, let me know how it comes out.

Leave a Reply

