ATK Recipe #40: Pan-Seared Shrimp

Finally the store had shrimp on sale and I got to try my first seafood recipe from the Book. Unfortunately, they were shelled and uncleaned so I had to devein and peel them before cooking them. I’m pretty damn good at the peeling, having grown up on the Gulf. But deveining is another thing. Both annoying and gross. If it weren’t for the prep, this would have been a super fast meal.

The shrimp was seasoned with salt, pepper, and sugar and seared over high heat for 2 minutes. The directions were strangely ambiguous: “Cook until the shrimp are curled and pink on both sides, about 2 minutes.” I couldn’t decide if it meant to cook them on both sides, one minute on each, two minutes on each, or only 2 minutes on one side. I settled for 2 minutes on one side and then another minute of stir-frying. But mostly they were only seared on one side. We decided we wished they were seared on both sides, although I worry that they may have gotten over cooked and tough.

After all the shrimp were seared, I tossed them in butter, lemon juice, and lots of fresh parsley. I served them with some of the garlic lemon spinach from the recipe I tried earlier.

Shrimp

I thought the shrimp was awesome. I scarfed my whole portion and then went to get bread to soak up the juice. I could have eaten twice as much, probably. My husband agreed it was good, but wasn’t quite as over the moon as I was. All I can say is that I’ve had lots of shrimp in restaurants that I wish were as good as these.

Leave a Reply

