ATK Recipe #34: Broiled Asparagus

Asparagus is without a doubt my favorite vegetable. Contrary to what seems to be popular foodie opinion, I like my asparagus skinny and floppy. So I usually boil asparagus in a little water until it’s nearly falling apart. I’ve never broiled asparagus before and was a bit skeptical that I would love the results. My husband was similarly skeptical and came close to accusing me of ruining asparagus. “It’s in The Book. I have to do it,” I replied.

The instructions are simple. Toss the asparagus in olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and broil for about 10 minutes. The book says to place the asparagus six inches from the broiler. I did so, but after a few minutes, I noticed the oven was getting smoky and the asparagus was starting to burn. So I moved them down to the center of the oven and let them finish there. I notice now, looking back at the recipe that it doesn’t specify whether to broil on high or low. I used high. It might work better on low. But luckily only the edges of the asparagus were crispy.

With my first bite of the asparagus, I was converted. They were really, really good. I was worried that the broiling would leave them too crisp and not tender enough, but they had a really nice, soft texture. Plus, the olive oil and seasoning meant that they didn’t need anything else like butter or more salt. I will certainly be broiling asparagus again.

3 thoughts on “ATK Recipe #34: Broiled Asparagus

  1. Michelle says:

    You should try it on the grill too! Just use the same olive oil and salt. It’s SO good.

  2. Justin says:

    I does/did need a touch less oil though, to my tastes. Otherwise it tasted great.

Leave a Reply

