ATK Recipe #32: Roasted Potatoes with Garlic and Rosemary

This is a recipe I’ve made several times from The Book, with great success. The recipe is actually for Roasted Red Potatoes, but I’ve used purple potatoes every time. Because if you can get purple potatoes, why wouldn’t you choose them?

The recipe is simple, easy, and generally wonderful. This time I used potatoes I’d bought at a local farmer’s market. They were a little bit of a challenge to clean and trim due to their origin. But after quite a while, I had them halved and tossed with olive oil, salt and pepper. They’re roasted, cut side down, at 425 for 20 minutes. I forgot to cover these with foil, as instructed. I think I forgot it last time, too, without much trouble. So I continued for 15 more minutes but didn’t have to remove the foil. This time, I think my omission of the foil made the potatoes too crispy and not tender enough. After 45 minutes of cooking, I flipped the potatoes to cook for eight more minutes. In the last three minutes I sprinkled fresh rosemary over them.

Meanwhile I minced one clove of garlic and did my best to turn it into a paste by scraping it across the board with my knife. Once the potatoes were down, I tossed them with the garlic paste in a bowl.

Normally the potatoes from this recipe are super fantastic. But this time they were disappointing, along with the smothered pork chops they were served with. The lack of foil made them too crispy, and the flavor of the potatoes was lacking something. I actually think the store bought purple potatoes I used before were much better than the local organic farmer’s market ones I used this time. It happens.

But I highly recommend trying this recipe anyway (and you’ll notice I included enough info that you can reproduce this recipe). It’s the best way to cook potatoes I’ve found. And if you haven’t tried purple potatoes, you absolutely should. Not only are they gorgeous, but yummy and nutritious. And while I’m giving recommendations, plant some rosemary. We have a huge bush of rosemary that started as a small herb plant two years ago. We never do anything with it and it thrives on neglect. And I have fresh rosemary at all times. I wish more herbs were like it.

Leave a Reply

