ATK Recipe #31: Smothered Pork Chops

It’s been over a week and a half since I cooked this dish. I’ve been sick and really not in the mood to write anything up, but I’m so behind that I have to get going.

At first glance, this seems like a guaranteed winner of a recipe. It’s got pork, onions, bacon, and gravy. How could that not be awesome? Well, I’ll get there.

So, although it seems like a simple enough recipe, it caught me by surprise with how much time and work it required. First you brown the chops in a skillet for 6 minutes, then remove them to a plate. Then you add onions and cook them for 7 minutes. Unfortunately the recipe called for doing this over high heat, which I would normally not have done. And I ended up with onions that were a bit burnt rather than properly caramelized. Then you take the onions out and add bacon and cook that until crisp and then transfer to another plate. By this time I had food in every bowl and plate spread across the whole kitchen. And then you make a roux and cook until golden before turning it into a gravy. And then the chops and onions go back in for 30 minutes.

I couldn’t believe how long it called to cook the pork. When I followed the ATK recipe for pan cooked pork chops I got perfectly cooked pork chops in about 10 minutes. But I went with the book and cooked them for 30 minutes. I hoped that cooking the pork in the sauce would prevent them from drying out. I served them up with the bacon sprinkled on top and plenty of sauce.

But the pork was dry even with the gravy. The sauce was ok, but the flavor was pretty monochromatic. Justin said they lacked flavor. Neither of us cared for this dish. Besides slightly burning the onions, I don’t think the disappointing result was my fault. I think this might be the worst conceived recipe I’ve seen in the book. It just doesn’t make sense to me coming from people who know how to cook pork.

2 thoughts on “ATK Recipe #31: Smothered Pork Chops

  1. Rhonda says:

    Same thing happened to me. I didn’t burn the onions, but the pork chops were a bit overdone and I had to spice up the sauce.

  2. Lisa Nelson says:

    I cooked this recipe and it was wonderful. Maybe you used a different cut of pork? You need a cheap cut for this. I used Boston butt, or southern style boneless ribs.

Leave a Reply

