ATK Recipe #15: Fresh Corn, Black Bean, and Tomato Salad

This recipe caught my attention when I was paging through the cookbook, so when fresh corn went on sale, I decided to make this.

The salad is a combination of fresh corn cut off the cob, rinsed canned black beans, halved grape tomatoes, sliced scallions, and minced fresh cilantro. The only tricky part was cutting the cooked corn off the cob. The instructions in the book tell you to first cut off the kernels and then grate the cobs with a grater to get more corn flavor out of it. I tried the grating, but didn’t actually end up with much of anything.

The dressing is a little more complicated. I started by mincing garlic and then one jalapeno. Naturally, I was stupid and didn’t use gloves when I chopped the pepper. I washed my hands afterwards and my hands didn’t bother me, but when I then touched my upper lip, my lip caught fire. I tried washing it with soap and water and that only seemed to make it worse. Then I tried lime juice and that didn’t work either. I had to run to my laptop and fire it up to find a remedy. I found a lot mentioned in just one thread. Lime juice, sour cream, milk, white vinegar, alcohol, bleach, pepto bismal. Pepto Bismal sounded crazy enough to work, and since I had some right in the fridge (it’s much less disgusting when it’s cold) I smeared some on my lip. It helped slightly, but after the initial relief, the burning came back almost as strong as ever. Next I turned to the liquor cabinet, looking for vodka. We’re out of vodka, so the next plainest liquor was some rum. I poured a hefty amount on a paper towel and swabbed myself over and over. Thankfully, it actually worked. Crisis over, I returned to my salad.

The rest of the dressing is lime juice, red wine vinegar, cumin, salt, pepper, and olive oil. I mixed it in an old salsa jar and shook it up. Putting all this together, I was a little concerned that all these strong flavors would be overpowering. The green onion, cilantro, and jalapeno all worried me. But once the whole thing was combined and I tasted it, it was fantastic. The flavor is complicated but perfectly balanced. I had this for lunch with some bread and cheese and went back for seconds. This would be the star dish of any summer cookout or potluck. I’m still in awe of this salad. Plus, it’s pretty.

Corn, Black Bean, and Tomato Salad

2 thoughts on “ATK Recipe #15: Fresh Corn, Black Bean, and Tomato Salad

  1. thetexturedknitter says:

    I’ve made this! Only I used basil instead of the cilantro, because cilantro burns my mouth worse than the jalapeno burned yours. It’s still yummy but much less Southwesterny with the basil.

    Doesn’t it feel good to make a meal almost entirely of fresh veggies? πŸ™‚

    • Kim says:

      I bet basil would be good, too, although a different flavor profile.

      And yes, using fresh veggies is lovely, but for dinner I served this with burgers, so not exactly the whole meal. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

