ATK Recipe #7: Slow-Cooker Beef Brisket with Onion Gravy

I was actually planning to cook a slow cooker pork loin recipe this week, but it was going to be spicy and since my husband is not feeling very well and needs to avoid spicy foods, I scrapped that plan. I had a small brisket, so I decided to make this recipe. I actually had to set an alarm so I would get up early enough to do all the prep and get the brisket in the slow cooker early enough.

I seared the brisket in a cast iron skillet until it was beautiful. Then you cook onions and garlic and then deglaze the pan with red wine and tomato paste. Then it all goes in the slow cooker with broth, brown sugar, thyme, and bay leaves. The only change I made was that it called for 1 cup chicken broth and 1 cup beef broth, but I didn’t have chicken broth so I used all beef broth. It cooked for about 9 hours, at which time I took the brisket out to rest and added flour to the gravy.

Crock Pot Brisket

I didn’t realize it until I tasted the final result, but this recipe is actually identical to another recipe in the cookbook for “Braised Brisket” except that this time it’s made in the slow cooker. I’ve made that recipe a couple of times and loved it. The sauce has a great, complex flavor. The brisket itself didn’t turn out as tender as I wanted it to be. Yes, it fell apart easily, but it still felt a bit chewy and dry to me. I went back for more sauce.

Crockpot Brisket with Onion Gravy

But this recipe is definitely a winner once again. I don’t know that cooking it in the slow cooker was any easier than doing it in the oven, except I didn’t have to heat the house with the oven when it was 100 degrees outside. So whether I make this recipe in the slow cooker or the oven from now on will probably depend on the weather.

Leave a Reply

