ATK recipes #4-5: Garlic Hoisin Pork Chop and Easy Rice Pilaf

I’m finding it more difficult to make myself write up these posts than to actually cook new recipes from the cookbook. Wednesday evening I made a pan sauteed pork chop (according to the ATK instructions) with their recipe for Garlic Hoisin Pan Sauce for Pork. I served it with the book’s Easy Rice Pilaf.

Garlic Hoisin Pork Chop

First, the rice. The result looks like regular old white rice, but the process is a bit more involved than I would usually use. First you saute minced onion in butter and then add the rice and toast it before adding the water and cooking as normal. I’m actually not a big fan of plain rice, but my husband is and he reports that this rice tasted, “Extra ricey.” It had a nice texture, but I prefer my rice covered in pork fat and yummy sauce, so I can’t really comment on the flavor.

The pork chops were pan seared, and again the ATK book has specific instructions. It calls for searing the first side over medium-high heat, and then cooking the second side over medium-low for a longer time to prevent it overcooking. Justin pronounced the pork “perfectly cooked” so I suppose it worked. The sauce is a pan sauce of garlic, chicken broth, hoisin sauce, red pepper, and red wine vinegar. It was easy, I had everything on hand, and it turned out super yummy. This is a recipe I would definitely make again.

Leave a Reply

